Championing Veterans: Baylor Law Veterans Clinic Honors Advocates of the Year

November 10, 2023
Photo of Dan MacLemore and Hailee Yip (JD ’18) with Professor of Law Bridget Fuselier and Director of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs and Clinical Lecturer Josh Borderud
(L-R) Dan MacLemore and Hailee Yip (JD ’18) with Professor of Law Bridget Fuselier and Director of Clinical and Pro Bono Programs and Clinical Lecturer Josh Borderud at Baylor Law Veterans Clinic 2023 Advocate of the Year Awards, November 10, 2023.

The Baylor Law Veterans Clinic proudly announces the 2023 Advocate of the Year Awards, recognizing exceptional commitment and dedication to serving the legal needs of Central Texas veterans. The awards were presented during the Waco-McLennan County Bar Association Luncheon at the Baylor Club on Friday, November 10, 2023.

This year’s honorees are:

Dan MacLemore, partner at Beard Kultgen Brophy Bostwick & Dickson, PLLC.
Dan MacLemore has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to veterans in need. In 2019, he took on a complex pro bono foreclosure case on behalf of a veteran in Bell County. His relentless efforts have resulted in the defeat of numerous motions for summary judgment, and he negotiated a settlement agreement that allows the veteran to remain in her home with an affordable monthly payment schedule.

Hailee Yip (JD ’18), Associate at West, Webb, Allbritton & Gentry
Hailee Yip’s dedication to veterans dates back to her law school days when she was honored with the Bill Kimble Service Award. Hailee has been a devoted volunteer at the monthly legal advice clinics at the Heart of Texas Veterans One Stop, offering vital legal advice and counsel to veterans and their spouses in family law and civil litigation matters.

The Baylor Law Veterans Clinic has a rich history of honoring advocates who selflessly serve veterans in Central Texas. Previous recipients of the Advocate of the Year Award include:

  • 2022 – Dominic Braus and Curtis Brown
  • 2021 – Gavin Lane and Darren Obenoskey
  • 2020 – Carlie C. Gause and Lori Krasienko
  • 2019 – Col. Jon R. Ker (USA, ret.) and Mark S. Knapp
  • 2018 – Janette Baldwin and Garrett Beach
  • 2017 – Lt. Col. Jack Rochelle (USAF, ret.) and Christie Ryan
  • 2016 – John B. LeJeune

Since its founding in 2012 by Professor Bridget Fuselier, the Baylor Law Veterans Clinic has served over 2,000 veteran households in Central Texas and drafted over 450 wills for veterans and first responders under the guidance of Professor Tom Featherston.

The Baylor Law Veterans Clinic extends its heartfelt gratitude to the volunteer lawyers and supporters who have significantly impacted the lives of veterans and their families. The clinic wishes to acknowledge the invaluable contributions of David Alford, Lt. Cmdr. Mark Altman II (USNR), Garrett Beach, Travis Blake, Chris Brinser, Curtis Brown, Fred Brown, Zach Brown, Austin Byrom, Chris Carbonaro, Stephen Carl, Tessa Denman, Austin England, Patricia Ferguson, Bridget Fuselier, Carlie Gause, Rebecca Griffin, Jim Hering, Scott James, Jennings Kennady, Col. Jon Ker (USA, ret.), Mark S. Knapp, Lori Krasienko, Gavin Lane, Elisabeth Llamas, Brandon Luce, Dan MacLemore, Marcus Mataga, Jason Milam, Tony Nguyen, Darren Obenoskey, Scott Omo, John Palmer, Krupali Patel, Joshua C. Pearson, Maria Pena, DeAndrea Petty, Karl Quebe, Elisa Rainey, Damon Reed, Joe Rivera, Lt. Col. Jack Rochelle (USAF, ret.), Jessenia Ruiz, Christie Ryan, Ben Selman, Erin Shank, David Shatto, Amanda Simpson, Evan Simpson, Reid Simpson, Tyler Sims, Spencer Smith, Savannah Stroud, Grace Strange, Alan Streetman, David Tekell, Frank Thomas, Gerald Villarrial, Allen Wilson, Henry Wright, and Hailee Yip.

The Baylor Law Veterans Clinic also acknowledges the unwavering support of its faculty, staff, students, and community partners and the generous support of the Texas Access to Justice Foundation.

For more information about the Baylor Law Veterans Clinic and its mission to serve veterans, please visit


MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor University School of Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,800 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court, and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law's trial advocacy program as one of the top 5 in the nation. Baylor Law is also ranked in the top 50 in the magazine's 2019 edition of "America's Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and in the top 15 "Best Law School Facilities" in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984. Learn more at 

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 20,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at