Top Gun XV: Nation’s Best Law Student Advocates Head to Baylor Law for High-Stakes Mock Trial Competition

May 22, 2024

Top student advocates from across the nation will compete in the fifteenth annual Top Gun National Mock Trial Competition, set to take place from May 29 to June 2 at Baylor Law in Waco. 

Watch the Top Gun Final Round - June 2, 2024 @ 2 pm

This elite, invitation-only event is among the most challenging and prestigious mock trial competitions in the country. Sixteen law schools will each be represented by a single student advocate, who will not receive the case materials until a mere 24 hours before the competition begins. The victor of this intense contest will earn a $10,000 prize.

“Our goal is to push the boundaries of what student advocates can achieve under pressure,” said Robert Little, Baylor Law School’s director of advocacy programs. “Top Gun XV provides a unique platform for showcasing exceptional legal talent, demanding rapid case analysis and courtroom performance at the highest level.”

Top Gun XV is generously sponsored by MG+M The Law Firm. Their unwavering support significantly enriches the educational journeys of these aspiring trial lawyers. Lawyers from MG+M will also host a free Professional Development Program for Baylor Law Students during the competition.

The 16 competing law schools and their representatives participating in Top Gun XV are:

  • Boston College Law School: Jordan McGuffee
  • Campbell University Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law: Sydney Kraft
  • Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law: Clarke Doig
  • Georgetown University Law Center: Kira Eidson
  • Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law: Julia Feron
  • Mercer University School of Law: Willie Sizemore
  • Samford University Cumberland School of Law: Grayson Walden
  • St. John’s University School of Law: Krista Apostle
  • Stetson University College of Law: Ashtyn McDaniel
  • Temple University Beasley School of Law: Dorothy Hayes
  • UCLA School of Law: Peter Jones
  • University of Georgia School of Law: Drake Jones
  • University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law: Rebecca Wells
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law: Corbin Healy
  • University of South Carolina School of Law: Tanner Wise
  • University of Texas School of Law: Nicholas Gonnerman

As the organizing institution, Baylor Law does not field a team.

The competition begins in the evening on Wednesday, May 29, with competitors arriving for orientation and a welcome dinner. The following day, competitors will receive their case files, and the preliminary rounds will run from Friday, May 30, through Sunday, June 1. The semifinal round will begin at 9 a.m. on Sunday, June 2.

The final round will begin Sunday at 2 p.m. and will be streamed live at